Internet Explorer 11 + WebPlayer (Workaround)  [FIXED]

Report bugs and issues

Re: Internet Explorer 11 + WebPlayer (Workaround) - NOT FIXED!

Postby Shando69 » 2014-12-01 01:14

Sorry to re-open an old(ish) thread, but is there an OFFICIAL fix for IE11 yet???

Thanks

Shando


Further details:

User avatar
Shando69
Gold Boarder
Gold Boarder
 
Posts: 319
Joined: 2008-10-25 04:20
Location: Sunshine Coast, QLD, Australia

Re: Internet Explorer 11 + WebPlayer (Workaround)

Postby broozar » 2014-12-01 16:24

No. You (still) have to run IE11 in Compatibility Desktop mode.
User avatar
broozar
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 4172
Joined: 2007-09-16 10:22
Location: Berlin - Germany

Re: Internet Explorer 11 + WebPlayer (Workaround)

Postby dZastrX » 2014-12-01 18:36

User avatar
dZastrX
Expert Boarder
Expert Boarder
 
Posts: 143
Joined: 2013-11-25 22:52

Re: Internet Explorer 11 + WebPlayer (Workaround)

Postby Shando69 » 2014-12-01 22:36

Hi dZastrX,

Looks like I'll have to give your 'fix' a go :wink:

If I make these changes, will it still work with IE9 and below, or will I have to create two versions, and use php(or change the .js file?) to choose between them based on the browser??

Thanks

Shando


Further details:

User avatar
Shando69
Gold Boarder
Gold Boarder
 
Posts: 319
Joined: 2008-10-25 04:20
Location: Sunshine Coast, QLD, Australia

Re: Internet Explorer 11 + WebPlayer (Workaround)

Postby dZastrX » 2014-12-01 22:45

User avatar
dZastrX
Expert Boarder
Expert Boarder
 
Posts: 143
Joined: 2013-11-25 22:52

Re: Internet Explorer 11 + WebPlayer (Workaround)

Postby Shando69 » 2014-12-01 23:15

Hey buddy,

Thanks for all your help 8)

I'll give it a go and see what I can come up with (maybe have to take a crash course in js as well :? ).

Regards

Shando


Further details:

User avatar
Shando69
Gold Boarder
Gold Boarder
 
Posts: 319
Joined: 2008-10-25 04:20
Location: Sunshine Coast, QLD, Australia

Re: Internet Explorer 11 + WebPlayer (Workaround)

Postby Shando69 » 2014-12-02 06:22

Got it working :D

Now I have the problem that the Scene looks c**p in IE11 on my Alienware 17 Laptop (Windows 8.1 64-bit, i7 4700MQ, 16GB Dual-Channel DDR3, Intel HD Graphics 4600 (Default for Web), 3071MB GTX 770M (Default for Games)), but great in IE11 on my old AMD Phenom Desktop :cry:

I've read that it's an issue with Intel Graphics falling back to DX9 mode (??), but surely that shouldn't be an issue in 2014 :shock:

This could be a deal-breaker for me, as most of the users for this app will be on corporate desktops with minimal graphics capabilities (Intel HD4000 / Radeon HD6250), BUT as far as I know even these are DX11 / Shader 4+ capable??

Please can someone let me know if we can expect an update in the near future that won't force Intel IGPs to fall back to DX9?????

Thanks

Shando


Further details:

User avatar
Shando69
Gold Boarder
Gold Boarder
 
Posts: 319
Joined: 2008-10-25 04:20
Location: Sunshine Coast, QLD, Australia

Re: Internet Explorer 11 + WebPlayer (Workaround)

Postby Shando69 » 2014-12-02 07:19



Further details:

User avatar
Shando69
Gold Boarder
Gold Boarder
 
Posts: 319
Joined: 2008-10-25 04:20
Location: Sunshine Coast, QLD, Australia

Re: Internet Explorer 11 + WebPlayer (Workaround)

Postby Shando69 » 2014-12-02 08:05



Further details:

User avatar
Shando69
Gold Boarder
Gold Boarder
 
Posts: 319
Joined: 2008-10-25 04:20
Location: Sunshine Coast, QLD, Australia

Re: Internet Explorer 11 + WebPlayer (Workaround)

Postby broozar » 2014-12-02 12:15

the "cannot load" messages are harmless, your scenes apparently (pre)load just fine. the loading is concluded at 15:47:31, and 4 seconds later you or something in your app closes the game "properly" (no hard crash): 15:47:35] ... Sent application message: onApplicationWillQuit to user: 0

the problem with "looking crap" is indeed your crappy intel GPU which forces the engine into dx9 fallback. The Radeon you speak of will be fine though.

2.0 will have the webplayer fallback removed on Intel GPUs.
Today, you can already override the cfg to force the engine to use the DX11 renderer, however this is not practical for wide-spread consumer use (because it involves crawling around in hidden directories and editing cfg files).
User avatar
broozar
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 4172
Joined: 2007-09-16 10:22
Location: Berlin - Germany

PreviousNext

Return to Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron